CLIF Speed & Style

CLIF Speed & Style

Started in: 2012
First pro winner: Brendan Fairclough (GBR)
2018 pro winner: Tomas Lemoine (FRA)
Whistler Bike Park Trails: Speed & Style course at Blackcomb Base 2

In words of 2013 winner Martin Soderstrom, the name of the game in Speed & Style is: “go fast and do tricks.” Easier said than done.

The athlete to make it down the course the fastest wins the speed points, but it by no means trumps style. Racers earn additional points by adding tricks mid-race. This event offers a glimpse of the future of freestyle with riders breaking into the slopestyle scene hitting this course first. Come race time, it all comes to a head, with fresh blood and seasoned pros racing side-by-side through tricked-out dual tracks. Dirt will fly, tricks will roll and one rider will emerge the master of speed and style.

2019 will bring some added energy to the CLIF Speed & Style. Stick around after the event for the return of the Best Trick competition at 8 p.m. At 9 p.m., we take it up another notch with a beer garden (open ’til 10 p.m.) and a live concert by Seattle’s high-energy rock trio Naked Giants, presented by CLIF.



Thursday August 15
12:30pm - 1:30pm Pro Women’s Training Base II
1:15pm - 1:30pm Athlete Meeting (Mandatory) Base II (Top of Course)
1:30pm - 3:00pm Pro Men’s Training Base II
Friday August 16
8:00am - 9:30am Pro Men’s Training Base II
9:30am - 10:15am Pro Women’s Training Base II
10:15am - 10:30am Pro Men’s Hot Lap Base II
10:30am - 12:30pm Qualification (Pro Men & Pro Women) Base II
12:45pm - 2:15pm Qualifying Round of 32 & Qualifying Round of 16 (Pro Men) Base II
2:30pm - 3:30pm Pro Women’s Training Base II
3:45pm - 4:45pm Pro Women’s Round of 16 & Finals Base II
5:00pm - 6:00pm Pro Men’s Training Base II
6:00pm - 8:00pm Webcast Finals Base II
9:00pm - 10:00pm Clif Green Notes Naked Giants Concert Base II

Event Information & Formats

Registration: By invitation only

Pro Men
Pro Women

Onsite Checkin:
Competitors need to check in at the Athlete Centre (Aava Hotel) to complete waiver / collect race decal.

Sunday August 11 | 8:00am – 12:00pm
Monday August 12 | 8:30am – 12:00pm
Tuesday August 13 | 8:30am – 1:00pm
Wednesday August 14 | 9:00am – 1:00pm
Thursday August 15 | 9:00am – 1:00pm
Friday August 16 | 9:00am – 1:00pm

Format and Rules:
Format and Rules - Men
Format and Rules - Women

Seeding Run: 2 runs (all riders racing the same course).

Qualifiers and Finals use a double-elimination format with one run on each course. The winner of these head-to-head heats is chosen based on the rider's time and performance on the features, or their tricks.

Pro Men Category:

Protected Riders: 8 pre-qualified riders based on the 2018 Speed & Style World Tour Rankings will automatically advance to the Finals Round of 16.

Qualifying Round of 32 & Qualifying Round of 16: Riders who have advanced from the Qualifiers (excluding the 8 Protected Riders) will go through the Qualifying Round of 32 then to Qualifying Round of 16. 8 riders will advance to the Finals Round of 16 in the webcast.

Two courses designed and built by Paddy Kaye & Joyride Bike Parks. The courses sit at Base II on Blackcomb Mountain

Prize money: $8,000 CAD Total