Maxxis Slopestyle in Memory of McGazza

Maxxis Slopestyle in Memory of McGazza


The Crankworx FMBA Slopestyle World Championship’s first stop launches from the dirt gold and amidst the mighty Redwoods of Skyline Rotorua Gravity Park. New Zealand’s grand master of the discipline, Kelly McGarry, and his building partner, Tom Hey, designed and built one of the best slopestyle courses in the world before McGarry passed away in 2016. The event was renamed in his honour.

The Rotorua event is a special one for many reasons. Like every Crankworx Slopestyle, it is the marquee event of the festival, bringing together the elite of the discipline eager to prove themselves and start their season off with a bang.

The Maxxis Slopestyle in Memory of McGazza will be broadcast LIVE on all your devices exclusively on Red Bull TV, as well as on and Pinkbike.



Event Information & Formats


By invitation only.
The top 6 from the 2018 Crankworx FMBA SWC standings are guaranteed entry into all Crankworx slopestyle competitions for 2019. Invitations will also be issued to the next top-8 riders from the FMB World Ranking as of 6 weeks prior to event start date.


Course: Designed and built by Tom Hey and Kelly McGarry, the course sits in Skyline Rotorua Gravity Park.

Prize money:
Total: $47,950 NZD