CRANKWORX WHISTLER TO FEATURE 10+ HOURS OF LIVE MOUNTAIN BIKE ACTION, INCLUDING FOUR BROADCASTS ON RED BULL TV

The best of the best from multiple disciplines are ready to send it from Whistler to the world on Red Bull TV and crankworx.com 

WHISTLER, B.C. August 12, 2019 – Mountain bike fans will now have access to live Crankworx content in more places than ever before. The 16th edition of Crankworx Whistler will see 10.5 hours of live action broadcast on crankworx.com, with an unprecedented 8.5 hours of events on Red Bull TV over the 10 days of the festival. In 2019, Pump Track and Dual Slalom will be broadcast on Red Bull TV for the first time, joining Speed & Style and Slopestyle.

Mountain bike fans – mark your calendars and set your alarms. These are the events you’re not going to want to miss as the ultimate experience in mountain biking blasts from Whistler through August 18, 2019.

Wednesday, August 14

100% Dual Slalom Whistler

Where to watch:

Live on Red Bull TV and crankworx.com

When:

Wednesday August 14th 5:00 p.m. PDT

Thursday August 15th 12:00 p.m. NZST

Thursday August 15th 2:00 a.m. CEST

Details:

Head-to-head racing at its most raw, the 100% Dual Slalom Whistler will wrap the first-ever Crankworx Dual Slalom World Championships. Racers will tackle a new, purpose-built course on Blackcomb Mountain. Described by course builders as “classic Dual Slalom,” this longer course features rollers, flat grass turns, step downs, gaps, and finishes on a straight set of rollers with an option to triple. 

Thursday, August 15

RockShox Ultimate Pump Track Challenge

Where to watch:

Live on Red Bull TV and crankworx.com

When:

Thursday August 15 8:00 p.m. PDT

Friday August 16 3:00 p.m. NZST

Friday August 16 5:00 a.m. CEST

Details:

The explosive power of the Crankworx Pump Track will be blast from the Boneyard at the base of the Whistler Mountain Bike Park to the world in this final showdown of the Crankworx Pump Track World Championships for 2019. As the sun sets on Whistler, head-to-head racing will light up the night. A new track will take advantage of a bigger footprint available at the base of the bike park. In this new spot, the build crew focused on making the left and right tracks as even as possible, guaranteeing nail-biting racing and drama right up to the finish line. 

Friday, August 16

CLIF Speed & Style

Where to watch:

Live on Red Bull TV and crankworx.com

When:

Friday August 16th 6:00 p.m. PDT

Saturday August 17th 1:00 p.m. NZST

Saturday August 17th 3:00 a.m. CEST

Details:

An all-new venue will welcome multi-talented riders with both pedal power and a variety of awe-inspiring tricks in their roster. Tune in to watch riders race head-to-head and send it (with style) on two judged hits on this purpose-built course on Blackcomb Mountain. Taking the discipline to the next level, course builders have built custom Speed & Style ramps, adapted to fit the discipline based on athlete feedback.

Saturday, August 17

Red Bull Joyride

Where to watch:

Live on Red Bull TV and crankworx.com

When:

Saturday August 17th 4:30 p.m. PDT

Sunday August 18th 11:30 a.m. NZST

Sunday August 18th 1:30 a.m. CEST

Details:

The final contest of the Crankworx FMBA Slopestyle World Championship season, Red Bull Joyride brings together 14 of the world’s top riders for a showdown of amplitude, originality, difficulty, execution, and flow. It all has to come together on this course known as the biggest on the circuit, and in this event that’s one of the most-watched competitions in the mountain bike world.

Sunday, August 18

Canadian Open DH presented by iXS

Where to watch:

Live on crankworx.com

When:

Sunday August 18th 2:00 p.m. PDT

Monday August 19th 9:00 a.m. NZST

Sunday August 18th 11:00 p.m. CEST

Details:

A deep field of some of the world’s facest downhill racers will flock to Whistler to take on this infamous course. The Canadian Open DH presented by iXS is a one run take-down of Whistler’s rooty single-track, and a chance for fans to see some of the best in the business face off.

To take your Crankworx experience to the next level, stay tuned to the Crankworx World Tour on Facebook, YouTube, Instagram and Twitter. At your fingertips: exclusive athlete content, broadcast promotions and partner videos to be shared throughout the festival. Fans can expect to see clips of top runs, GoPro course previews, bike checks, athlete and local riding features plus timely highlight pieces.

Plus, take your experience to the next level with the Crankworx Fantasy contest. This season has already seen two winners, but there’s one more chance for mountain bike fans to win the ultimate Crankworx prize. Head to Pinkbike to sign up and potentially win huge prizes including the ultimate, a VIP trip for two to any Crankworx in 2020, RockShox Lyrik Ultimate and Maxxis prize pack. So who’s going to be on your winning team?

Choose your ultimate team of six riders to go to battle during each Crankworx Whistler live broadcast: 100% Dual Slalom Whistler, Rockshox Ultimate Pump Track Challenge, CLIF Speed & Style, Canadian Open DH presented by iXS, and Red Bull Joyride. Before each of the five broadcasts, select your team of athletes to collect the most points possible. 

It’s all about to come together for the ultimate viewing experience of the ultimate experience in mountain biking.

 High res release photos: Dropbox

News: Press releases

Photos: Flickr

General resources: Media kit

 

About the Crankworx World Tour

Crankworx is the ultimate experience in mountain biking. Born in Whistler, B.C. in 2004, Crankworx has evolved into a multi-stop international festival series. The Crankworx World Tour brings together the best mountain bike athletes to compete in elite-level competitions in a variety of disciplines. Crankworx World Tour festivals also host races for amateurs, Kidsworx contests for young riders, participatory events, and celebrations of mountain bike culture, all while showcasing amazing destinations. For additional information, visit crankworx.com.

 

– 30-

EMIL JOHANSSON TAKES EMOTIONAL RED BULL JOYRIDE WIN AT CRANKWORX WHISTLER, AND BRETT RHEEDER CROWNED OVERALL WORLD CHAMPION

August 17, 2019

ROPELATO CONTINUES WINNING STREAK AT CRANKWORX WHISTLER, WHILE JORDY SCOTT TAKES FIRST WIN AT CLIF SPEED & STYLE

August 16, 2019

TOMMY ZULA TAKES FIRST CRANKWORX WIN AND JILL KINTNER RECLAIMS TOP SPOT IN ROCKSHOX ULTIMATE PUMP TRACK CHALLENGE

August 16, 2019

ROPELATO CHARGES AHEAD FOR DUAL SLALOM WIN, CHAMPIONSHIP, AND KING OF CRANKWORX LEAD

August 14, 2019

JILL KINTNER TAKES 7TH CONSECUTIVE WIN IN AIR DH AT CRANKWORX WHISTLER, CLOCKING HER FASTEST TIME TO DATE

August 13, 2019

CRANKWORX WHISTLER TO FEATURE 10+ HOURS OF LIVE MOUNTAIN BIKE ACTION, INCLUDING FOUR BROADCASTS ON RED BULL TV

August 12, 2019

RICHIE RUDE AND ISABEAU COURDURIER STAND ATOP PODIUM AFTER BIGGEST EVER WEEKEND OF ENDURO AT CRANKWORX WHISTLER

August 11, 2019

OVERALL KING OF CRANKWORX RACE HEATS UP AS MITCH ROPELATO TAKES FIRST WIN OF CRANKWORX WHISTLER 2019

August 9, 2019

BIGGEST ENDURO WORLD SERIES RACE IN HISTORY KICKS OFF CRANKWORX WHISTLER 2019, AND OVERALL RIDER LISTS RELEASED

August 9, 2019

RIDER LIST UNVEILED FOR RED BULL JOYRIDE 2019

July 22, 2019

BRETT RHEEDER AND EMIL JOHANSSON FACE OFF IN EPIC AND EMOTIONAL BATTLE FOR SLOPESTYLE SUPREMACY AT CRANKWORX INNSBRUCK

June 16, 2019

BROOK MACDONALD AND TRACEY HANNAH TAKE SECOND CRANKWORX DOWNHILL WINS OF 2019 IN AUSTRIA

June 16, 2019

SODERSTROM BACK ON TOP AT SPEED & STYLE AT CRANKWORX INNSBRUCK

June 14, 2019

LORON AND HINES PUSH TO THE TOP IN ROCKSHOX INNSBRUCK PUMP TRACK CHALLENGE

June 14, 2019

100% DUAL SLALOM INNSBRUCK BRINGS VAEA VERBEECK SECOND CRANKWORX DUAL SLALOM WIN OF 2019, WHILE MATHEW STERLING TAKES FIRST ELITE WIN

June 13, 2019

More CWX News »