WIN A TRIP TO CRANKWORX ROTORUA WITH THE CRANKWORX FANTASY CONTEST

Chance to win an all-expenses paid trip to Rotorua, New Zealand with season finale

WHISTLER, BC, August 3, 2016—Win an all-expenses paid trip to Rotorua, New Zealand next spring with the Crankworx Whistler Fantasy Contest.

The Crankworx Whistler Fantasy Contest will give one lucky mountain biking fan a chance to win the trip of a lifetime by picking a winning team of athletes from the roster of gravity-defying Superstars competing at Crankworx Whistler.

“The first Crankworx Fantasy Contest was a huge success. You could log into the Fantasy website, tune into Crankworx.com for our live broadcast, and watch as the athletes you selected scored points. It really personalized the contest, giving everyone watching someone to root for—the fans were hooked,” says Darren Kinnaird, Crankworx General Manager.

This time, the contest runs Saturday, Aug. 13 to Sunday, Aug. 21 with more action, more athletes and more events. Contestants will select a team of 28 Crankworx athletes to make up their fantasy team. To play, simply register a team at fantasy.crankworx.com and get ready to watch as the world’s elite mountain bikers descend on Whistler, British Columbia for a 10-day raucous gravity showdown.

The key to the contest is to balance the prospective riders’ strength and overall value or salary, as listed in the game, against the contest’s salary cap. Teams must be complete in order to qualify to win and a player cannot exceed the upper limit on salaries.

“This contest is really for everyone – whether you watching it in person at Crankworx Whistler or watching the seven live broadcasts on Crankworx.com – and we want our fans to have even more reason to be a part of the action, cheering on these athletes,” says Kinnaird. “We’ve built the game to value players on their relative likelihood of winning. So you don’t need to know mountain biking inside and out going in, but you will know a fair amount about the world’s best riders in the end.”

The trip includes:

  • Flights for two to New Zealand to see the next Crankworx World Tour stop, Crankworx Rotorua
  • Five nights accommodation
  • VIP Passes to Crankworx Rotorua
  • $500 NZD spending money

To win, players simply log onto fantasy.crankworx.com, sign up for the contest and select from the athletes listed under the following competitions:

  • CLIF Bar Dual Speed & Style (two male athletes, this is an invitational male-only field)
  • SRAM Canadian Open Enduro presented by Specialized (two male and female athletes)
  • Garbanzo DH (two male and female athletes)
  • Fox Air DH (two male and female athletes)
  • Ultimate Pump Track Challenge presented by RockShox (two male and female athletes)
  • Giant Dual Slalom (two male and female athletes)
  • Canadian Open DH presented by iXS (selecting two male and two female athletes)
  • Red Bull Joyride (two male athletes – this invitational event only includes male athletes)

Crankworx will be broadcast live on Crankworx.com and Pinkbike.com and the Slopestyle event, Red Bull Joyride, will be broadcast exclusively on Red Bull TV and Crankworx.com. The full broadcast schedule is:

  • CLIF Bar Dual Speed & StyleSaturday, Aug. 13 5 – 7 p.m. PST; Sunday, Aug. 14 1– 3 a.m. CET in Europe; Sunday, Aug. 14 noon to 2 p.m. NZT in New Zealand
  • SRAM Canadian Open Enduro presented by SpecializedSunday, Aug. 14 5 – 7 p.m. PST; Monday, Aug. 15 1– 3 a.m. CET in Europe; Monday, Aug. 15 noon – 2p.m. NZT in New Zealand
  • Fox Air DHWednesday, Aug. 17 3:30 – 5:00 p.m. PST; Wednesday, Aug. 17 11:30 p.m. – 1:30 a.m. CET in Europe; Thursday, Aug. 18 10:30 a.m. – noon NZT in New Zealand
  • Ultimate Pump Track Challenge presented by Rock ShoxThursday, Aug. 18 7:30 – 9:30 p.m. PST; Friday, Aug. 19 3:30 – 5:30 a.m. CET in Europe; Friday, Aug. 19 2:30 – 4:30 p.m. NZT in New Zealand
  • GIANT Dual SlalomFriday, Aug. 19 5 – 7 p.m. PST; Saturday, Aug. 20 1– 3 a.m. CET in Europe; Saturday, Aug. 20 noon – 2 p.m.
  • Canadian Open DH presented by iXSSaturday, Aug. 20 1-3 p.m. PST; Saturday, Aug. 20 9 – 11 p.m. CET in Europe; Sunday, Aug. 21 8 – 10 a.m. NZT in New Zealand
  • Red Bull JoyrideSunday, Aug. 21 10:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. PST; Sunday, Aug. 21 6:30 –9:30 p.m. CET in Europe; Monday, Aug. 22 5:30 – 8:30 a.m.

Media contact:
Jennifer Smith
Crankworx Communications Manager
cell: 604-848-8801 (Whistler, British Columbia)
email: Jennifer@Crankworx.com

Photos available for media on the Crankworx Flickr Account; please credit Crankworx and the photographer listed in the cutline information.

Photo above: Queen of Crankworx and all-round Superstar Anneke Beerten takes on Stage 1 of the SRAM Canadian Open Enduro presented by Specialized in 2015.

Crankworx Whistler Broadcast video teaser: YouTube.com/Crankworx

_________________

Through dirt, sweat and cheers, Crankworx celebrates the epic endurance, supreme flow, monster air and heart-stopping drops of gravity mountain biking. Anointed by dirt, powered by passion, the Crankworx World Tour travels to Rotorua, New Zealand and Les Gets, France and culminates in its Canadian home base of Whistler B.C.

Tread among the gravity-fed. Join the bike-minded.
Crankworx.com

 

 

CRANKWORX WORLD TOUR ANNOUNCES 2020 SCHEDULE

November 4, 2019

EMIL JOHANSSON TAKES EMOTIONAL RED BULL JOYRIDE WIN AT CRANKWORX WHISTLER, AND BRETT RHEEDER CROWNED OVERALL WORLD CHAMPION

August 17, 2019

ROPELATO CONTINUES WINNING STREAK AT CRANKWORX WHISTLER, WHILE JORDY SCOTT TAKES FIRST WIN AT CLIF SPEED & STYLE

August 16, 2019

TOMMY ZULA TAKES FIRST CRANKWORX WIN AND JILL KINTNER RECLAIMS TOP SPOT IN ROCKSHOX ULTIMATE PUMP TRACK CHALLENGE

August 16, 2019

ROPELATO CHARGES AHEAD FOR DUAL SLALOM WIN, CHAMPIONSHIP, AND KING OF CRANKWORX LEAD

August 14, 2019

JILL KINTNER TAKES 7TH CONSECUTIVE WIN IN AIR DH AT CRANKWORX WHISTLER, CLOCKING HER FASTEST TIME TO DATE

August 13, 2019

CRANKWORX WHISTLER TO FEATURE 10+ HOURS OF LIVE MOUNTAIN BIKE ACTION, INCLUDING FOUR BROADCASTS ON RED BULL TV

August 12, 2019

RICHIE RUDE AND ISABEAU COURDURIER STAND ATOP PODIUM AFTER BIGGEST EVER WEEKEND OF ENDURO AT CRANKWORX WHISTLER

August 11, 2019

OVERALL KING OF CRANKWORX RACE HEATS UP AS MITCH ROPELATO TAKES FIRST WIN OF CRANKWORX WHISTLER 2019

August 9, 2019

BIGGEST ENDURO WORLD SERIES RACE IN HISTORY KICKS OFF CRANKWORX WHISTLER 2019, AND OVERALL RIDER LISTS RELEASED

August 9, 2019

RIDER LIST UNVEILED FOR RED BULL JOYRIDE 2019

July 22, 2019

BRETT RHEEDER AND EMIL JOHANSSON FACE OFF IN EPIC AND EMOTIONAL BATTLE FOR SLOPESTYLE SUPREMACY AT CRANKWORX INNSBRUCK

June 16, 2019

BROOK MACDONALD AND TRACEY HANNAH TAKE SECOND CRANKWORX DOWNHILL WINS OF 2019 IN AUSTRIA

June 16, 2019

SODERSTROM BACK ON TOP AT SPEED & STYLE AT CRANKWORX INNSBRUCK

June 14, 2019

LORON AND HINES PUSH TO THE TOP IN ROCKSHOX INNSBRUCK PUMP TRACK CHALLENGE

June 14, 2019

More CWX News »